Mark My Words: The Truth Is There in Black and White (Paperback)

Mark My Words: The Truth Is There in Black and White Cover Image
$13.99
Backordered

Description


Isn't the truth as simple as black and white? Mark My Words is the searing novel from Branford Boase Award-winner and 2020 World Book Day author Muhammad Khan, asking who you can trust when all you see is lies.

Fifteen-year-old Dua Iqbal has always had trouble minding her own business. With a silver-tongue and an inquisitive nature, a career in journalism seems fated. When her school merges with another to form an Academy, Dua seizes her chance and sets up a rival newspaper, exposing the controversial stories that teachers and the kids who rule the school would rather keep buried.

Dua's investigations are digging up things she shouldn't get involved with about family, friends and her community and as exams rattle towards her, she needs to make some hard decisions about when to leave things alone. But when she discovers that some kids at school are being blamed for selling drugs when the real perpetrator is right in front of their noses, she can't keep quiet any longer.

'A voice long overdue in British fiction' Alex Wheatle on I Am Thunder

'Khan has created a book steeped in drama and empathy, as well as providing two iconic superheroes' Nikesh Shukla on Kick the Moon

About the Author


Muhammad Khan is an engineer, a secondary-school maths teacher, and a YA author! He takes his inspiration from the children he teaches, as well as his own upbringing as a British-born Pakistani. He lives in South London and has an MA in Creative Writing from St Mary's. His debut novel I Am Thunder was shortlisted for the YA Book Prize, won the Branford Boase First Novel Award, the 2018 Great Reads Award and a number of regional awards. His second novel, Kick the Moon has been nominated for the 2020 Carnegie Medal and he is an official World Book Day Author for 2020 with his short novel, Split.

Praise For…


"Fans of Skins and The Hate U Give will feel right at home here." —BuzzFeed on I Am Thunder

"Trailblazing." —BookRiot on I Am Thunder

"A captivating story about seeking and exposing the truth." — Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9781529029949
ISBN-10: 1529029945
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
Publication Date: June 1st, 2022
Pages: 304
Language: English