There Will Be War Volume VIII (Paperback)

There Will Be War Volume VIII By Jerry Pournelle (Editor), John F. Carr (Editor) Cover Image

There Will Be War Volume VIII (Paperback)

By Jerry Pournelle (Editor), John F. Carr (Editor)


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Created by the bestselling SF novelist Jerry Pournelle, THERE WILL BE WAR is a landmark science fiction anthology series that combines top-notch military science fiction with factual essays by various generals and military experts on everything from High Frontier and the Strategic Defense Initiative to the aftermath of the Vietnam War. It features some of the greatest military science fiction ever published, such Orson Scott Card's "Ender's Game" in Volume I and Joel Rosenberg's "Cincinnatus" in Volume II. Many science fiction greats were featured in the original nine-volume series, which ran from 1982 to 1990, including Robert Heinlein, Arthur C. Clarke, Philip K. Dick, Gordon Dickson, Poul Anderson, John Brunner, Gregory Benford, Robert Silverberg, Harry Turtledove, and Ben Bova.

33 years later, Castalia House has teamed up with Dr. Pournelle to make this classic science fiction series available to the public again. THERE WILL BE WAR is a treasure trove of science fiction and history that will educate and amaze new readers while reminding old ones how much the world has changed over the last three decades. Most of the stories, like war itself, remain entirely relevant today.

THERE WILL BE WAR Volume VIII is edited by Jerry Pournelle and John F. Carr, and features 21 stories, articles, and poems. Of particular note are "Surviving Armageddon" by Jerry Pournelle, the brilliantly inventive "Dinosaurs" by Geoffrey A. Landis, "As It Was In the Beginning" by Edward P. Hughes, and the haunting "Through Road No Whither" by Greg Bear.

Product Details ISBN: 9789527303221
ISBN-10: 9527303222
Publisher: Castalia House
Publication Date: August 4th, 2021
Pages: 408
Language: English
Series: There Will Be War